Document User Rights definition
Repository> Intelligent Disclosure> Documents Settings
Document user rights definition procedure.
Access the user rights management window
- click Login To SharePoint
- enter credentials
Consult user rights defined on a document
This procedure allows you to consult user rights on one or more documents.
- Select one or more collaborative documents on the check box associated with the document name
- CCH Tagetik populates the grid with only those users and user groups who have rights (native to SharePoint and/or Tagetik Software S.r.l.) and for only those documents of interest shows an appropriate icon linked to the permission configured for the user.
IMPORTANT Although a user may be assigned several permissions, CCH Tagetik shows only one icon and does so based on the following priority rules:
-
if only a native SharePoint or CCH Tagetik right is granted, its icon is shown as described in Document Settings;
-
if native SharePoint and CCH Tagetik rights are granted at the same time, the icon referring to the former is always shown;
- if multiple SharePoint native rights are granted, the icon of the most prioritised permission is shown in the order: Set-up, Contribute, Read-Only, No Access.
By hovering over the grid cell for the user and the document, CCH Tagetik displays a label containing the list of configured permissions for the user
Adding user rights to a document
This procedure allows user rights to be added to an individual document
- Select the collaborative document or one of its subparts on the check box associated with the document name
- Click

- Select Add
- In the Add user rights window enter in the search field at least3 consecutive characters of the first name, surname, or e-mail address of the user or group of users to whom you wish to add the right, and click on the button to start the search; select the one of interest from those returned by the search operation.
- Click Confirm Operation
- In the Add user/group rights window, click Add Permissions. Note: If the selected document is currently in a workflow progress state, a warning message will appear at the top of the window: “By adding this permission, you will change the status of the already approved document part.” Please be careful."
- Select one of the menu items available : Submission, Level 1 Approval, Level 2 Approval, Level 3 Approval, Level 4 Approval, Level 5 Approval, and the permission levels configured in SharePoint (for more information see the official Microsoft document Permission levels in SharePoint.)Note: To assign the Enable Edit permission, once an Approval Level has been selected, enable the Enable Edit button.
- Click Confirm Operation
IMPORTANT: for a given document, the user can be assigned only one of the following: Submission, Level 1 Approval, Level 2 Approval, Level 3 Approval, Level 4 Approval, Level 5 Approval
Adding User Rights to Multiple Documents
This procedure allows user rights to be added to several documents at the same time
- Select the documents of interest by clicking on the check box associated with the document name with the left mouse button
- Select Add from the grid
- In the Add user rights window enter in the search field at least 3 consecutive characters of the first name, last name, or e-mail address of the user or user group whose rights you wish to revoke, and click the button to start the search; click on the result of interest returned.
IMPORTANT: the warning message 'All previous and existing permissions will be overwritten' is shown at the top of the window - Click the Confirm Operation button
- In the Add user/group rights window click Add Permissions
- Select one of the available options: Submission, Level 1 Approval, Level 2 Approval, Level 3 Approval, Level 4 Approval, Level 5 Approval, and the permission levels configured in Sharepoint (for more information see the official Microsoft document Permission levels in SharePoint )
Note: To assign the Enable Edit permission, once an Approval Level has been selected, enable the Enable Edit button 7. Click the Confirm Operation button
IMPORTANT: for a given document, the user can be assigned only one of the following: Submission, Level 1 Approval, Level 2 Approval, Level 3 Approval, Level 4 Approval, Level 5 Approval.
- Note
- the Confirm Operation button is only editable if at least one permission is assigned to the user
Delete user rights on a single document
This procedure allows you to delete user rights on a document
- Select the collaborative document, or a sub-part thereof, by clicking on the check box associated with the document name with the left mouse button
- Click on the button icon

- Select the Add menu item
- In the Add user rights window enter in the search field at least3 consecutive characters of the first name, surname, or e-mail address of the user or user group whose rights you wish to revoke, and click on the button to start the search; click on the result of interest returned
- Click the Confirm Operation button
- In the Add user/group rights window, click on the
icon associated with the right to be revoked Note: Removing the Approval Level removes the Enable Edit permission, if any - Click the Confirm Operation button
note: the Confirm Operation button is only editable if at least one permission is assigned to the user
Delete the rights of all users on a single document
This procedure deletes the permissions of all users for the selected document.
- Select the root document, or a sub-part of it, by left-clicking on the check box next to the name
- Click on the button icon

- Click on the menu item Clean Permissions, selectable only if the grid contains at least one column
- Click the Continue button in the pop-up that displays the warning message "The delete permissions operation will be run for all users on the selected document. Are you sure that you want to continue?" and the information note:"Owner type permissions will not be deleted
- Click the Continue button
IMPORTANT: For owner users of the site, deletion includes both native Sharepoint and CCH Tagetik permissions; for member users of the site, deletion only includes native Sharepoint permissions CCH Tagetik
Deleting all users' rights on several documents
This procedure allows you to delete the permissions of all users for selected collaborative documents.
- Select the documents - between 2 and 10 in number - by left-clicking on the check box next to the name of each one.
- Click on the Clean Permissions button icon visible above the grid
- Click the Continue button in the pop-up that displays the warning message "The delete permissions operation will be run for all users on the selected document. Are you sure that you want to continue?" and the information note:"Owner type permissions will not be deleted
- Click the Continue button
IMPORTANT: For owner users of the site, deletion includes both native Sharepoint and CCH Tagetik permissions; for member users of the site, deletion only includes native Sharepoint permissions CCH Tagetik
Modifying user rights on a document
This procedure allows for modification of user's rights on a single document.
- Select an individual collaborative document, or a sub-part thereof, by clicking on the check box associated with the document name with the left mouse button
- Click on the user right icon, as described in section "User rights and icons", for the user of interest.
Note: the icon can be edited only if a single document has been selected 3. In the Add user/group rights window, change the user rights, following the procedures below:
- to add:
a) click on the Add Permissions button
b) Select one of the available menu items: Submission, Level 1 Approval, Level 2 Approval, Level 3 Approval, Level 4 Approval, Level 5 Approval, and the permission levels configured in SharePoint (for more information see the official Microsoft document Permission levels in SharePoint )
Note: To assign the Enable Edit permission, once an Approval Level has been selected, enable the Enable Edit button
- to delete:
a) In the Add user/group rights window, click on the
icon associated with the right to be revoked
Note: Removing the Approval Level removes the Enable Edit permission, if any 4. Click the Confirm Operation button 5. Upon completion of the above procedure, CCH Tagetik displays the user's updated permission icon in the grid.
IMPORTANT: for a given document, the user can be assigned only one of the following: Submission, Level 1 Approval, Level 2 Approval, Level 3 Approval, Level 4 Approval, Level 5 Approval