Users rights: Restrictions on dimensions
application database > User Rights > Restrictions tab
Purpose of the page¶
Restrictions on dimensions allow you to define, for each user, which elements they can view and enter data for.

IMPORTANT: Elements are both visible and editable by default. To prevent modifications, you need to assign read-only authorization.
Restrictions Tab
Please find below the most important fields.
| Field | Description |
|---|---|
| Entity and task | Restricts Entities the user can see. For more information see Entity and Task rights. |
| Accounts | You can configure restrictions either by individual accounts or by nodes of a hierarchy defined on the account dimension. Note: Individual accounts and/or lower-level nodes can be added or deleted. |
| Custom Dimensions | Restrictions can be defined only if the custom dimension is managed. It can be done by individual elements of the dimension or by nodes of a non-time-dependent hierarchy defined on the custom dimension; you can add or remove individual elements of the custom dimension and/or lower-level nodes to or from the nodes See Custom Dimensions |
| Categories | You can configure restrictions either by individual categories or by nodes of the category grouping. Note: Individual accounts and/or lower-level nodes can be added or deleted. |
| Original Scenarios | You can configure restrictions either by individual scenarios or by nodes of the scenario grouping. Note: Individual accounts and/or lower-level nodes can be added or deleted. |
| Consolidation Scenarios | You can configure restrictions either by individual consolidation scenarios or by nodes of the scenario grouping. Note: Individual accounts and/or lower-level nodes can be added or deleted. IMPORTANT: It is necessary to specify whether Entities belonging to the consolidation scope must include visibility rights for the user. This option is useful when the structure of the consolidation scope does not match the organisational structures used for data collection. |
| WF step | Specifies any restrictions to the workflow steps the user can manage. |
| Analytical Dimensions | Defining restrictions on analytical dimensions allows to define, for each user, which elements they are allowed to view and enter data for. For more information see Restrictions on Analytical Dimensions. |
Restrictions can be set for each dimension with the following values.
| Option | Description |
|---|---|
| Unrestricted | Default value (except for category dimensions and consolidation scenarios): the user manages all elements of the dimension in the elements list. |
| Restricted | The user only acquires rights to the specified dimension elements, which can be configured via the Define link. The result is displayed in the Definition Result window. IMPORTANT: default value for the Consolidation Scenario. A new user has no editability and visibility rights on any consolidation scenario. |
| By Area profile | A user belonging to an area profile inherits as editable/visible all elements associated with that profile. Note: Option not available for analytical dimensions. |
| Restricted to the contributor categories | Default value for the category dimension. A new user has editability and visibility rights over all contributor categories. |

IMPORTANT: When saving, the system automatically deploys the definition of restrictions on dimensions: for each dimension it generates a detailed list of editable and/or visible elements. Exceptions are Entity and analytical dimensions for which the deployment has to be launched manually with the appropriate button