Machine Learning Update Analytical Workspace
Introduction¶
The Update Analytical Workspace feature allows a target Analytical Workspace to be updated from a source Analytical Workspace. This feature can also be used to update Machine Learning configurations (models, advanced analytics train, advanced analytics execute, parameters, and mapping)
Advanced Analytics Management¶
Below is the behaviour of Advanced Analytics when updating the Analytical Workspace. The result varies depending on the presence of the elements in the source and target workspace.
| If advanced analytics... | ... then |
|---|---|
| are present in both the source and target Analytical Workspace that share the same code | are updated in the target Analytical Workspace |
| are only present in the source workspace | are added to the target workspace |
| are only present in the target workspace | are not modified. |
Update from exported Analytical Workspace¶
The Update from exported Analytical Workspace feature allows an Analytical Workspace to be updated from files exported from another environment.
Procedure¶
In order to run Update from exported Analytical Workspace, the following procedure must be followed:
- click on the Action button of the Analytical Workspace you wish to update
- select Update from exported Analytical Workspace
- pick the files to be imported
- click on Run.

IMPORTANT: The update cannot be performed if the source workspace containsthe the following types of Machine Learning configurations:
-
manually uploaded models: the Run button is not enabled and the system displays the message: "The model in the imported files is an uploaded model
-
The source workspace contains a model with a version that is newer than the one supported in the target environment
ML model version management¶
Based on the version difference between source and target, the system behaves as follows:
| If the model version in the Source... | ... then the model |
|---|---|
| is older than the target | is not updated and the audit will display the message: 'The target model version is greater than the source model version' |
| is the same as the target | is not updated |
| is newer than the target and the target environment allows the use of that version | is updated |
| is newer than the target, the version step is a major and the target environment allows that version to be used | is updated and the audit will display the message: 'The change is a major version, so you might miss the trains'. |
Note: If the model to be updated is in a BLOCKED BY USER status, then the status will remain the same even after updating the Analytical Workspace.